Shining Blood

images.jpeg
Shining Blood Mixed With My Shining Blood
I joined in with the angry mob and cast stones at the man…He was still standing there in the village square…Bloodied…And, it was horrifyingly amazing to see his shining, bright red blood pour out onto to the hard ground beneath and then realize at that moment…The man was being stoned to death for sins of the past that he had committed and not for the good deed he had just had the temerity to commit.
And then…At that moment I jumped into the circle of hate with that man…And, I yelled out to him: “I know you have sinned before as I have brother but I will not let you be stoned alone for doing a good and righteous thing” …It was at this time that the man’s shining blood had mixed with mine and some how atonement was in that moment and peace finally came.
Of course it was not a smart thing to do but…It was the right thing to do
It is painful to anger friends and even lose them when you follow your conscience but…It is ten times more painful when you give into friends and go against your conscience.
Brothers and sisters… Below is a letter from a dear friend whom I shall not name unless that person wants to be named.
This friend, just messaged me and had said that because I had supported a person that some revile and despise in our community that I now was being attacked for doing so.
Well…I am glad my friend wrote me to ask about this and the first part will be that person’s letter asking questions of me as to why I stood by that person temporarily for something I believe that they had done right. My friend’s letters will be labeled A.) and my responses will be labeled B.)
A.) Lennie – . “I am here because I am seeing you being named and criticized for supporting Jarrett Maupin. It pains me to see you criticized — would you like to speak to this ? I haven’t yet seen a post of comment of yours mentioning Jarrett. As always, hope you’re ok….”
B.) Hello. The nitty gritty is: That I supported Maupin on holding that march on July 8th, 2016. I do not support Maupin on anything else but… I have a tendency to stand up for a person when they (although doing bad in the past) do something good for a change. Then…When people continue to go into a savage and hateful mode even for a person like Maupin who has done bad in the past when now he has finally done good for a change…I will follow my conscience and stand up for what I believe is right. Also…I don’t think taking orders from the pro police good ol’ boy Phoenix police Joe Yahner who comes from the ranks of Phx PD. is a good thing for a civil rights protester to do.
I saw some other civil rights leaders saying Maupin was wrong for not listening to the police and then…I saw Maupin criticized for what rogues were doing and that I believe was and is just plain wrong. I believed Maupin did the right thing because in the moment of truth when the establishment had co-opted the other leaders he was not so … Despite all the criticism… I will follow my conscience and not judge a man by his past actions for a good action he does in the present.
A.) Len —“I wasn’t there Friday night – but isn’t that what Jarrett did – taking orders from , being buddy with – PPD? That’s what I heard he did — and gave names of protesters to cops too. I’ve heard that he wasn’t doing good Friday night — he deceived people who attended by not telling them he intended to go to the freeway…..and parents and children were surprised and running from tear gas. People see him as not having done a good thing Friday. Just saddens me when you are criticized — I appreciate you following your conscience—-
B.) Thank : 1.) The allegation that he was buddy, buddy with the police might have been true in the past but it was very public that he defied the mayor and the pro police phx police chief because they tried to pressure him and order him not to march.
2.) As far as people stating they were deceived you and I both know that when you go to a protest you make voluntarily decisions every step of the way…
a.) some people decide to play it safe and not walk at all in the street which is already breaking the law.
b.) Some people decide to either do a sit down in the street or don’t..It is voluntary.
c.) People did not have to go the freeway…In fact when we got close to it many people decided to leave but… a group of other people voluntarily decided to stay that was their choice…And my choice as well because I stayed. It was my choice every step of the way…
d.) And as far as people insinuating that our young Millenial brothers and sisters were like children and didn’t know what they were doing? Well, that is an insult to them for they are an extremely educated and conscientious generation and that this assumption is even made at is quite frankly that older people are nervous about young people making decisions for themselves. And, by “young” I mean all young people who have reached the age of 18 and older.
e.) So, when people put their feet on the street, the police may have insinuated they had permission by doing so but nothing could be further from the truth…When one steps voluntarily onto the street and brings their children with them to a protest while doing so they need to know they are putting their children at risk.
3.) I know Maupin has done these things that have angered me from the past and I have personally told him so but I also told him I wouldn’t fault him for doing the right thing in this case for the march he held on July 8th, 2016 and…Quite frankly…The bad things he has done in the past now have company with the bad thing some of the current leaders did by doing what the pro Phoenix police chief and Phx mayor ordered them to do and that was not to have the peaceful social justice march that night.
So, I stand by my conscience and revel in the fact that I am being attacked for it. Thanks again, for your questions. I assure you, that my public decision to stand by a man who is reviled by some others who are my friends and their subsequent torrent of anger unleashed on me is something I would be accepting now if I had done things the easy way and had joined in on the chorus of vitriol towards Maupin. But, sometimes even when we anger our friends that will abandon friendship with us because we follow our conscience it is better to stay friends with our conscience which is a tough friend indeed sometimes to keep.
Leonard Clark
Progressive Activist
July 15th, 2016
Published by

leonard clark

I am an Arizona Progressive veteran who is concerned not only for myself but my loved ones and my progeny. I am deeply interested in the world and universe.

Leave a Reply

